On May 4, 2012 the MBLC & MLS jointly announced new state-wide database contracts for Massachusetts libraries (press release HERE). Listed below are the specifics for the new state-wide database line-up that began July 1, 2012.
Gale InfoTrac databases
- A printed list with annotations of the MBLC/MLS state-wide Gale products can be found HERE [PDF].
- An online listing of MBLC/MLS state-wide Gale products can be found at the MBLC’s webiste here: http://mblc.state.ma.us/grants/licenses/index.php
- How to sign up your library & training resources can be found on the MBLC’s website here: http://mblc.state.ma.us/grants/licenses/how.php
Beginning July 1, 2012 two new databases were added:
- Nursing Resource Center
- Gale Virtual Reference Library – a list of these titles is available on the MBLC website HERE [PDF].
- There should be no loss in access to individual journal titles.
- The New York Times will still be available through the Gale databases.
As of July 1, 2012 there will no longer be access to the following three databases:
- Student Resources in Context
- RDS Business Suite
- For advanced business topics and titles, we encourage using the the Boston Public Library’s remote access databases, including Mergent Online, Business & Industry and TableBase.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online – as of July 1 access to Britannica Online will begin. It includes a Spanish language interface, as well. The list of Encyclopaedia Britannica products licensed will include both the School and Public Library editions, see below:
- Britannica Online School Edition PLUS – read-aloud at all levels and translation for over 50 languages
- Britannica Learning Zone (early childhood interactive learning resource)
- Britannica Online Public Library Edition PLUS – read-aloud at all levels and translation for over 50 languages
- Britannica Spanish Reference Center (Includes Encyclopedia Moderna, a reference collection for the high school and college ages and Escolar Online, geared to ages 6-12)
- World Data Analyst (current and historical statistics on the countries of the world)
- Annals of America (online Access to Original Source Documents From U.S. History)
- Britannica Online Mobile Edition
The MBLC and MLS have contracted with ProQuest to continue to provide access to the The Boston Globe, as the newspaper of record for the Commonwealth. Access to The Boston Globe will continue on July 1, 2012.
As of July 1, 2012 subscription to Massachusetts Newsstand will cease. No agreements have been reached to continue access to localized newspapers. MLS and MBLC recognize that the loss of localized newspaper titles is a disappointment to many people. This contracting of state-wide database access must focus on titles of state-wide interest or applicability. Past use statistics show that local papers have been accessed locally, for the most part. We need to find new ways of facilitating access to content of local import for our special, academic, school and public libraries in a way that is affordable and sustainable.
The Massachusetts Newsstand was comprised of the following papers (through June 30, 2012):
- Banner, The (West Boylston) (2007 – present)
- The Berkshire Eagle (2005 – present)
- Boston Globe (1980 – present)
- Boston Herald (1991 – May 2011)
- BusinessWest (1992 – present)
- Gazette (Haverhill) (1992 – 1997)
- The Item (Clinton) ( 2007 – present)
- Montachusett Telegram & Gazette (Worcester) (Jun. – Sep. 2008)
- North Adams Transcript (2005 – present)
- The Patriot Ledger (Quincy) (1995 – June 2011)
- Plymouth County Business Review (1991 – 2009)
- Record, The (Shrewsbury) (2007 – 2008)
- Sentinel & Enterprise (Fitchburg) (2005 – present)
- Standard Times (New Bedford) (1992 – 1997)
- The Sun (Lowell) (2004 – present)
- Telegram & Gazette (Worcester) (1989 – present)
The Massachusetts Library System (www.masslibsystem.org) is a state-supported collaborative, fostering cooperation, communication, innovation, and sharing among member libraries of all types. With offices in Marlborough and Whately, MLS promotes equitable access to excellent library services and resources for all who live, work, or study in Massachusetts.