MLS Offers Additional Titles from Gale/Cengage

September 16, 2010

Dear MLS Members:

We are pleased to announce the availability of additional online content on September 17, 2010. These services are an expansion of a license provided in Boston by the former Boston region.

The following Gale/Cengage Learning titles will be available in the same manner as other Gale titles that you currently access through the statewide contract. Your library will not need to take any action to add them. Direct links will be added soon to the MBLC’s “Link Generator” page at http://mblc.state.ma.us/grants/licenses/links/.

For assistance with the Link Generator, or with any other database issues, contact:
Rick Levine – rlevine@masslibsystem.org, 866-627-7228 x306
Scott Kehoe (scott@masslibsystem.org, 866-627-7228 x308

The license for these titles will run for one-year, ending in mid-September 2011. MLS will involve the membership in our decision-making process to make longer term plans for providing online content.  Libraries that license this content from Gale/Cengage independently, will be offered credits.

A description of this new content is found below.

Books and Authors
Books & Authors offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian’s favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together. Through the use of expertly written and arranged content and a dynamic, cutting edge user interface, Books & Authors makes exploration of genre fiction and essential non-fiction fun! By leveraging our entire award-winning What Do I Read Next? collection, patrons and students alike can be sure that their next big read comes with a BIG recommendation.

Business and Company Resource Center
Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. The power to answer all types of business queries is at your fingertips with this resource. Unlike other business resources available online, this comprehensive database offers a dynamic research opportunity, providing accurate, up-to-date company and industry intelligence for thousands of firms.
Business & Company Resource Center provides access to a wide variety of global business information including competitive intelligence, career and investment opportunities, business rankings, company histories and much more. Search this electronic resource to find detailed company and industry news and information.

Global Issues In Context
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique “perspectives” articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information. Rich multimedia – including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs – enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.

Health and Wellness Resource Center
Health and Wellness Resource Center provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

U.S. History In Context
Gale U.S. History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

World History In Context
Gale World History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

LitFinder
Covering world literature and authors throughout history, LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. For students or patrons seeking a deeper view into literature, LitFinder also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more! From Shakespeare’s sonnets to poems by Donald Hall or short stories from Edgar Allan Poe to works by Annie Proulx, LitFinderhas you covered.

Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center is the world’s most current, comprehensive, and reliable online literature resource. Uniquely relevant to today’s curriculum, Literature Resource Center’s rich critical, biographical and contextual materials support interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need on authors and their works in all genres and disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Included in Literature Resource Center is biographical entries on more than 135,000 authors, from Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Authors New Revisions, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism and other Gale sources, providing detailed biographical, bibliographical and contextual information about authors’ lives and works, more than 850,000 full-text articles, critical essays and reviews from over 390 scholarly journals and literary magazines, more than 75,000 selected full-text critical essays and reviews from Contemporary Literary Criticism®, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism®, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism®, as well as Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism and Children’s Literature Review, and more!

Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

RDS Business Suite (available on or about 9/23/2010)
Finding the relevant business answers has never been easier. Business Reference Suite, an exciting Web-based subscription service gives you balanced and highly focused full-text coverage of company and industry news, management practices, and market research information. By combining the complementary strengths of Business & Industry, Business and Management Practices, and TableBase Gale delivers a comprehensive business research package.
Acknowledged for their own distinct focuses and areas of expertise, these databases form a core business reference collection featuring more than 1,400 leading worldwide business sources, plus tens of thousands of tables with strategic data. Suite coverage is over 60% full text, and over 45% international.

Science In Context
Gale Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

InfoTrac Student Edition
Now with over 1,100 titles, cross searchable with eBooks, this periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Student Resources In Context
Student Resources in Context offers easy access to award-winning content based on national curriculum standards. Covering all core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and more, this resource provides a premium selection of reference material, more than 1,100 full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips and podcasts. Premier reference content includes the American Journey Series, and American Decades. New to the database are Lexile reading levels for periodicals, an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards, and popular topic pick lists.

To learn whether a specific title you seek is included, check Gale’s database title lists, separated by content type. Access the lists by clicking: http://www.gale.cengage.com/title_lists/.

Please contact MLS if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Greg Pronevitz
MLS Executive Director
508-357-2121
greg@masslibsystem.org