Databases

Click on the following for:
Geo-Location Set-Up / Vendor Contacts & Statistics
Database Training Resources / Powerpack Registration
Gale AccessMyLibrary Apps


For information on the new line-up of state-wide databases starting July 1, 2012 (Gale InfoTrac / ProQuest / Encyclopaedia Britannica), click HERE.

A list and brief descriptions of the current state-wide databases (under contract through June 30, 2014), click HERE.

Database set-up tips and news can be found on the MBLC Statewide Electronic Resources Blog, click HERE.

Quick access to InfoTrac, Mass. Newsstand, and the Virtual Catalog
via the Massachusetts Libraries website: HERE


For Massachusetts Libraries: state-wide databases via Geo-Location

MLS member libraries can create direct links to the individual databases titles:
Gale InfoTrac; ProQuest Massachusetts Newsstand; Newsbank.
Links are generated with your Gale Location ID found here:
http://mblc.state.ma.us/grants/licenses/links/index.php

Step-by-step instructions are available with this handout HERE. [PDF]

An overview of geo-location access for Mass. Libraries:
You Can Get There From Here: Accessing the Statewide Databases [PDF]

If you need assistant in obtaining your Gale Location ID, please contact:
Rick Levine or Scott Kehoe at the MLS, or Marlene Heroux, at the MBLC.


 MBLC / MLS Database Vendor Contacts & Statistics

MBLC Vendor Contact website:
http://mblc.state.ma.us/grants/licenses/help/index.php 

MBLC Vendor Statistics website:
http://mblc.state.ma.us/grants/licenses/statistics.php

Encylopædia Britannica
http://info.eb.com/html/contact_technical_support.html
1-800-621-3900 x7160
edsupport@eb.com

Gale InfoTrac
Massachusetts Gale support portal at: http://access.gale.com/mblc/
gale.technicalsupport@cengage.com
1-800-877-4253 – Option 4
http://support.gale.com

NewsBank (For libraries using the Regional Newspaper Access Grant Program)
custserv@newsbank.com
1-800-243-7694

OCLC WorldCat via FirstSearch (For Users of the Wellesley ILL Center)
support@oclc.org
1-800-848-5800

ProQuest Massachusetts Newsstand
tsupport@il.proquest.com
1-800-889-3358


Gale InfoTrac Powerpack Registration Form

If you would like to have Powerpacks available for your library, please fill out the online registration form here: http://access.gale.com/mblc/ppacks.html


Gale AccessMyLibrary Apps
http://www.gale.cengage.com/apps/ 

There are four Gale Access My Library apps aimed at K-12 schools, academics, public libraries and special library users.  The apps are currently available for iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch via iTunes.  And for Android devices via the Google Play Store.  A Handout with this information is available on the MLS workshop handouts site HERE.

Public Libraries
The the public library version is easiest to use.  There is no password or authentication required, it uses geo-location to identify participating public libraries.  All Mass. public libraries are available in this version.
Download Public Library app here:
iTunes App Store
Android Google Play Store

School and Academic Libraries
The School and Academic versions of the app require a login that the school librarian obtains directly from Gale and can be distributed to students and faculty.
School & Academic Librarians need to contact Gale directly to enable this app for their users:
E-mail E-mail Tech Support  / 1-800-877-4253 (opt 4)

Download K-12 School Library app here:
iTunes App Store
Android GooglePlay Store

Download Academic Library app here:
iTunes App Store
Android Google Play Store

Special Library Edition
AccessMyLibrary Special Library Edition provides Government, Military, Business, Health and other special libraries with mobile access to Gale products.  Special Librarians need to contact Gale directly to enable this app for their users:
E-mail E-mail Tech Support  / 1-800-877-4253 (opt 4)

Download Special Library app here:
iTunes App Store
Android Google Play Store

^TOP^